Skip to content

Newer

June 28, 2011

Another Babble post. I seem not to be able to update two websites at once. Especially with two children demanding I play hearts with them on the porch (I’m winning).

Update: Babble is changing the personal blog platform, and things are extra wonky as a result. If you try to find the blog and can’t, if you leave a comment that does not post (keeping in mind that I have to approve many comments for some reason) or if you click on broken links, would you please leave notice here so that I can try to get things fixed?

More on “Polly Tropos” next post, by the way….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Banannie permalink
    June 29, 2011 12:27 am

    well, well. i am always blown away by the nerve of people to take someone’s personal story, often painful, raw and filled with genuine emotion and use it to stand on their unrelated soap box and spew poison. i did click over to the article written by your friend. i also happened to click through to one of the most evil comment makers who seems to have a similarly angry, disrespectful view on many topics. sad life, bitter person. cheers to your sweet friend for telling her story–I hope she didn’t quit but wouldn’t blame her if she did.

  2. Banannie permalink
    June 29, 2011 12:30 am

    quit writing that is . . . having babies is sometimes hard to quit, they can be so fun and rewarding!

  3. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    June 29, 2011 9:58 am

    Helena is a brave, stolid soul. Braver than I, and no, she didn’t quit writing. In fact, she has a new website: here it is.

    http://hhsglossolalia.wordpress.com/

    She’d love it if you left her a comment, I know.

  4. helena permalink
    July 10, 2011 10:23 pm

    Look, it’s Helena pulling her head out of her ass to thank her beloved friend/separated-at-birth Wondertwin for linking to my article and Website, and to you guys who actually read me. I have to say that the Salon Life section comments are notoriously Bezerker so I actually wasn’t even going to read them at all until my husband was like, “Wow, you really do have to see x, y, and z.” Besides the usual Neanderthal, spelling-error hate-spew, there was a surprising amount of thoughtful and supportive commentary, so much so that it actually might have rivaled the loser-hate-spew 50/50.
    And no, I have indeed given up and am not trying again. That took all the wind out of my sails, nothing left to launch a new ship, just going to keep on doing what I was doing before I got that wild hair across my ass.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

