Skip to content

What you might call a tropical depression

August 27, 2011

Alas, the generic babble link on my sidebar does not seem to take you to my latest opus (in their defense, they’re probably evacuating), so here it is.

The kids are home, and my ex-husband actually uttered my name (twice!) which he hasn’t done since we separated, so progress was made. We’ve got our work cut out for us tomorrow, but I think we’ll be okay. It’s the rest of these poor sods who’ve never seen a hurricane before that I’m worried about. There is actually a clean-up-our-town’s-creek project slated for tomorrow, and it hasn’t been cancelled. “We’ll still work in the rain!” an email said cheerfully. I didn’t have the heart to respond.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2011 10:13 am

    I’m glad you got to spend time with your boyfriend and even more glad you are back with your kids. I’ll be thinking of you as I watch news of the storm and hope it loses steam soon.

  2. August 27, 2011 2:41 pm

    Watching the weather reports & thinking of you!

  3. September 1, 2011 12:57 am

    hope all is well there! It’s so funny/weird that you mention in your post about your ex uttering your name 2 times! because i’ve been mentally preparing since last week to start saying “hello, name” to my ex. just so i’m not a hypocrite when i tell my children to greet everyone we meet with a “hello, name”. parallel worlds, i s’pose.

  4. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    September 1, 2011 11:56 am

    He hadn’t said it in years, as far as I know. Even when talking to a third party–for instance, talking to consoling-windows friend, he called me “your friend” or “her”. To the kids I’m “your mother”. Anyway, it was odd–the first time seemed to be an accident, but the second was deliberate. I think you have the right idea–no need to persist with the whole He Who Cannot Be Named fiasco.

    • September 1, 2011 11:02 pm

      it truly is a huge step forward if your ex called you by your name and meant it! that’s wonderful, and must be good for the children too!
      i’ve been caught up in referring to my ex as the kids’ dad (i don’t even want to say father), and now i’m ready to be a better person. actually, i’ve been in a better place ever since i left his house, but that’s a different thing. i’ve not been better towards him. i have a “tone” when i speak with him. usually i text or email if i have to communicate anything. but i’m now willing to try to be better towards him. only for the children’s sake. i seriously doubt once my children are off on their own, i will have any contact with him. thank you for cheering me on!

  5. September 22, 2011 4:32 pm

    Hope all is well with you. Started at the beginning and have caught up…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

