Skip to content

And now we play the waiting game….

February 26, 2014

I thought all you readers from across the world would have excellent foreign superstitions I could deploy!!! Is there nothing about, say, swinging a cat? Sacrificing a goat? Is there anything magical I could mutter? Something I could ritually burn? A strange symbol I could scratch into the beam above my door? A potion to scatter in droplets around the house’s perimeter? Should I wear something till it falls off? Collect my toenails and a snippet of hair and make an amulet? THERE MUST BE SOMETHING!

(The waiting game sucks. Let’s play Hungry Hungry Hippos!)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    February 26, 2014 9:04 am

    Isn’t there something about burying a statue of St. Anthony upside down in the yard of a house you want to sell?

  2. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    February 26, 2014 11:48 am

    It was a different saint, wasn’t it? I did that already, a couple of years ago….

    • February 26, 2014 5:31 pm

      It’s Saint Joseph — I just did it a couple of weeks ago at my house. Fingers crossed it doesn’t take *years* (eek!)

  3. February 26, 2014 12:00 pm

    Hungry Hungry Hippos sounds fun. Wish I could play with you to distract you from the wait. (Or if you’re really desperate you could edit my second novel! That would keep you busy.)

  4. Foggy Bottom permalink
    February 26, 2014 12:59 pm

    Well I can do the goat one for you, if it helps. Do you mind if it’s a buck or doe? Or should it be an absolutely adorable, cuddly, cute, silky soft, angora doeling with beautiful blue eyes? You choose…..

    Seriously though, try and put it out of your mind and get the Hungry Hippos out. You’re on the home straight now, soon this chapter of your life will be behind you.

  5. February 26, 2014 8:04 pm

    I recommend wine while you wait. And favorite movies. With popcorn. Wait…that sounds good right now ~

  6. February 26, 2014 10:51 pm

    What *I* would do is: take a lock of hair from my maid; bury it by the orchid tree near the swimming pool; as the tropical sun sets and the exotic birds are chirping, get my maid to gently chant a spell while serving me a gin and tonic (TWO lumps of ice, for the loveofgod). But I’m not entirely sure that works for everyone.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      February 27, 2014 10:22 am

      Oh, like I haven’t already done THAT. Sheesh.
      (Your latest was v v funny, by the way. Poor muffin, throwing up at a birthday party!!!)

  7. Jenn permalink
    March 2, 2014 10:06 am

    Did you bury St. Joseph in the front yard, upside down? That’s the only thing I know… Upon final sale you unearth him and he moves into the flower bed if your new home… That’s all I know.

    • Jenn permalink
      March 2, 2014 10:09 am

      And then you pour hy wine liberally down your throat… And by holy I mean newly recommended by the kind man at the liquor store. Or maybe I’m confusing my superstitions…?
      Good luck! It has been a long time coming…

      • Jenn permalink
        March 2, 2014 10:10 am

        Holy wine. Good grief- now I’ve cursed my self. Spitting over my shoulder indeed. Better pull out the sage, too, just in case :-)

  8. Frances permalink
    March 31, 2014 8:43 pm

    I’ve checked in hoping to see an update, but alas. I hope all is well!

  9. Tory permalink
    April 9, 2014 5:01 am

    Oh where Art thou!

  10. April 15, 2014 11:36 pm

    Keeping a good thought ~

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

