Skip to content

I digress

April 11, 2010

I spent the weekend–a wonderful weekend–with my beloved and his kids and my kids. Apparently Katharine Angell said to a friend, after she ran off with E. B. White, something to this effect: “Even if the whole thing blows sky-high in five years, it will have been worth it.” I couldn’t agree more.

I plucked the following excerpt from this book, ages ago. It is, I think, an astonishingly beautiful little poem, written by E. B. White for Katharine, recently snitched and reappropriated by me for the only long-distance boyfriend I’ve ever had who was worth the bother.

Natural History

The spider, dropping down from twig,
Unfolds a plan of her devising,
A thin premeditated rig
To use in rising.

And all that journey down through space,
In cool descent and loyal hearted,
She spins a ladder to the place
From where she started.

Thus I, gone forth as spiders do
In spider’s web a truth discerning,
Attach one silken thread to you
For my returning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

