Skip to content

Independence

June 10, 2010

Only a few more days of school for one kid, and a week and a bit for the other. I cannot wait. I want huge swathes of aimless time with them, and since the custody arrangement means I have them every day during the summer (their father gets them on “his” nights when he gets home from work), that’s exactly what I’ll get. Actually, I’ll get more than that, since my ex-husband will be in Greece for nearly two weeks beginning next week. Eventually the kids will have camp for two hours in the morning (the older one’s a junior counselor, the younger a mere camper) for five weeks, but even that won’t start till the end of the month.

By myself I can do everything I need to do. When everything gets boiled down to basics, my life seems so easy. Taking care of the kids without getting them back and forth to their father’s, with attendant sportsgear, is easy. Working with them around is easy, too–after all, that’s what I’ve always done. If I need to be home with them all day every day, I don’t have to wonder whether I will go visit my boyfriend or he will come visit me. I don’t have to arrange anything. I don’t have to hitch my plans to someone else’s work schedule or routine.

The house is off the market. No one will come into it. Next week, my kids and I become an island.

All I want is to be marooned and left alone. I’m good at it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 4:13 pm

    This is a slight tangent but I too, in general, like being “marooned” and left alone! I don’t think it’s a bad thing at all!

    Think of all the great philosophers, scientists, writers, whatever…. the word “extrovert” doesn’t necessarily come to mind…I’m just sayin’. Bill Gates, Jerry Seinfeld = introverts.

    I know this is a ‘general’ observation, rather than in your particular situation, BUT nonetheless – my point is, you never have to apologize for how you feel!

    K

    –P.S. thx for your email bk 🙂

  2. June 14, 2010 6:05 am

    That sounds GOOD. Do your own thing, enjoy it thoroughly, and send us a note from time to time.

  3. kcarl permalink
    June 15, 2010 10:58 am

    I think the chickens are the way to go. Will there be coop building? That could be fun. Also, my partner’s uncle has a brood of chickens that he feeds leftovers from whatever has been eaten that day, and those eggs are quite simply the most luscious things you have ever tasted, so much so that I, city dweller, have contemplated trying to keep chickens (in the courtyard behind my apartment? In a retrofitted window box?)

Leave a Reply

