Skip to content

For Loretta Lynn fans…

November 9, 2010

Here‘s my brilliant wise editor friend’s interview with her.  Best interview I’ve ever read, hands down. All hail Loretta!

Long post still a-brewin’. Unfortunately, a bit of research on the internet has revealed that I don’t know how to rent an apartment in Paris any more, but I’m happy to say how you could go about renting one in, say, 1989. Or 1990. Or in Prague, way back when, for that matter. But I’m happy to answer any OTHER questions you all might have.

While we’re on the topic, did anyone mix up any Suburbans yet? How’d they taste? Every so often I think I might like to have one (or two to the one from the one to the three) again, just to break the spell. (I plan someday to make a list of all the things the last years of my marriage ruined for me–Radiohead’s “In Rainbows” chief among them–but in the meantime, if anyone would like to list his/her Things Divorce Ruined, I’m all ears.)

I’m bereft of my friend who’s teaching in France–she and her son left on Sunday. (My boyfriend and his kids left Sunday too. And suddenly it was dark an hour earlier. What a shitty ending to the week.) The big house is all empty and echoey and dark. Ah, well. I do think we’re stupid not to live in communes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. yammeringon permalink
    November 9, 2010 8:12 pm

    Husband rented an apartment in Paris in 1998, back when he was Boyfriend the Long-haired Grad Student (oh, how times change. Now he is Husband the Balding Professor. Similar things could be said of me, I’m sure.). The process was involved, and circuitous. It involved frequenting bars, paper classified ads, sleeping on couches, and illegal sublets that were raided by counterterrorism agents who thought we were Basque terrorists (I was there for that one.That was fun.). We spent a month there in 2007, and the apartment search involved perusing a number of informative, photo-rich real estate websites, and choosing one in a good neighborhood. It seemed almost *too* easy – you know, except for the part where I was doing it with a 2 year old and a newborn – it’s important to keep that sense of adventure alive.

    Off to see if I have the ingredients for a Suburban. They sound tasty.

  2. sciencegeeka permalink
    November 10, 2010 8:55 am

    Divorce ruined renaissance fairs and grilling. I know, it’s a weird pair. We had met at a fair, and he was obsessed with grilling. I only eat veggie burgers now.

  3. November 10, 2010 12:26 pm

    My life was just enhanced, by the reading of that interview.

    What a lovely woman.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      November 10, 2010 1:07 pm

      Thing is, Margaret’s just about as amazing as Loretta. Twangy, do they have Loretta Lynn in Ireland?

  4. Pinkie Bling permalink
    November 10, 2010 1:48 pm

    That interview was absolutely lovely. Your friend did a superb job. Also, I want to hang out with Loretta Lynn!

  5. November 12, 2010 10:29 pm

    That was really fun to read, and I am not even a Loretta Lynn fan (well, I wasn’t. I might be now).

Leave a Reply

