Skip to content

Two excellent things

November 18, 2010

One: Last weekend was wonderful.

Two: I seem to have won a raffle.

Neither event had anything to do with me: I am extraordinarily fortunate to have met Reggie and Boy, and I always win raffles. (Seriously. I always do. No matter if I buy one ticket or twenty.) So, please click over to the wonderful Hairy Farmer Wifey if you can, and donate if you can to a very worthy cause. And I will make the prize (when it is sent across the pond) a worthy fetish object for some other fundraiser, just you wait and see.

I am at my mother’s house, with my sister and her adorable baby girl, missing my children. My niece (my only niece) is 14 months old and learned how to say my name within two hours of re-meeting me (the last time we saw each other, she was nine months old and could not yet talk.) She is quite irresistible. She has rather a lot of hair, so she does not remind me precisely of my own children when they were her age (both were bald for several years), but she is a familiar shape and weight and heft in my arms. And when she leans in, and looks up at me, and grins, and says “Hi!”, it’s awfully easy on the old psyche, I must say.

So, smelling vaguely of Desitin and milk, I bid you good night. Stay tuned for the further perambulations of a certain blissful bear. And thank you, Wifey. I wasn’t in it to win it, but I’m awfully flattered that I did.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 2:53 am

    *beams*

  2. November 19, 2010 6:37 pm

    I went over to your friend’s blog to check out the dinner – amazing!

  3. Celeste permalink
    November 19, 2010 11:25 pm

    Francesca was one of my picks for a baby girl name. I used my grandmother’s name instead, but still love it to this day. So very glad you had a lovely time; the pictures and story are amazing.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      November 20, 2010 4:42 pm

      Well, Francesca is a nom de plume (or, more accurately, a nom d’ordinateur) but I agree–a perfectly beautiful name. If only it were truly mine!

Leave a Reply

