Skip to content

More shameless shilling

November 22, 2010

It’s not just one post, it’s a whole blog. To be updated alongside this one, with the result (one hopes) that a few hundred dollars will land in my bank account every month.

I have been thinking about this for some time. About things I’d leave for my own website, and things I’d post on theirs. I was out of town–my family has a mandatory business meeting this time of year, and I’m always out of town right about now–when Babble decided to post the entries I’d written for them, all at once. (There are several. No one has commented on the other entries, which is a mite worrisome. Are they bad? Or did you just not know they were there?)

Anyway. I flew back today, collected the kids, took them out to dinner, and am now putting them and myself to bed early. Tomorrow I’ll write some long thing, both for this site and the other, but in the meantime, if you are there? Would you mind chiming in on the Babble site? The CEO is an old boyfriend of mine. This is nepotism at its most delightful–college boyfriends hooking one up.

So I’ve gotten comments only on the first post–which worries me. Can you see the other entries? If so, will you say hello?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 10:09 pm

    With this prodding, I discovered the additional posts. I will admit that I feel a little odd commenting as I’m not divorced or in a particularly troubled marriage. I am, however, an enormous fan of your honest and heartfelt writing, and I’m delighted to see you compensated for it.

  2. November 23, 2010 12:09 am

    I actually looked for more of your content on the first day of the first post and I couldn’t find any. I will look again.

    And having looked I can see it now. The first way I tried was by clicking on your byline, expecting your profile and other work to come up. It didn’t, but I found the others by clicking on the link in the profile of you.

    I too have nothing at all to relate to the topic. I am not even a mother (yet). I just love your writing and will read it wherever it appears.

  3. November 23, 2010 12:38 am

    I didn’t realize that “Related Posts” led to more articles, because on some blogs I read, they lead to completely different sites, so I never click. Could they change it to “More by this author” or add an “Archives” tab? Look at me, tryin’ to be the boss of Babble.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      November 23, 2010 9:45 am

      I know, right? I’ll ask. “More most excellent writings by this most excellent author” has a nice ring to it.

    • November 23, 2010 9:49 am

      The “related posts” thing is very flawed, for the reasons already mentioned above. WordPress autogenerates “related posts” that I never, ever click. Assumed it was the same here.

  4. jaruuds permalink
    November 23, 2010 1:14 am

    I love commenting on this site, because I’m divorced, but not divorced with kids, so I didn’t feel like I had “the right” to comment over there. But I do what I’m told! And I do enjoy what you have to say very much, divorce-wise and otherwise, so I hope it’s all successful!

  5. November 23, 2010 4:01 am

    Yes! No bother. Putting my commenting hat on.

    A few hundred extra dollars – that’d be helpful, eh? Here’s to it.

  6. November 23, 2010 4:11 am

    I left the screen open meaning to comment when I had more thinking time, and then thought that perhaps it wasn’t the *best* screen title for John to see whilst casually sauntering past! I will return – and yes, I only spotted the one (wonderfull well written, as usual) post. Will forage for the others – more hyperlinky action will doubtless increase traffic, though!

  7. November 23, 2010 8:15 am

    I do look at babble occasionally but can’t see any posts from you now, could you link? Happy to read and comment if I can find them!

  8. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    November 23, 2010 9:44 am

    Oooh, and I’ve even gotten my first troll! I wondered when that would happen.

    Thank you all for reading and commenting. It is oddly set up and difficult to find. Thalia, if you click on this link it should take you to the first post: http://blogs.babble.com/divorced-with-kids/2010/11/18/the-day-we-told-the-children-we-were-separating/

    Then there are three more.

    I agree the layout strikes me as peculiar. I think they are still getting the whole thing sorted over there. Anyway. I will link to each post from here, how about that, in the future?

    I think the more hits and comments, the more I get paid. So, link, read, comment at will, etc. Even the trolls turn into money for me, which is a happy thought!

  9. SarahB permalink
    November 23, 2010 9:58 am

    I enjoy Babble a good deal, but the way they deal with their personal blogs could really use some streamlining. I follow one of them on google reader, and if I don’t click directly over and a few days pass and someone else is in their “top billing” for personal blogs, it’s a lot of clicks to get to.

    I’ll see if I can find your other pieces. I enjoyed the first!

  10. Hawkeye permalink
    November 23, 2010 10:14 am

    I figured out there were other articles and read ’em, just didn’t comment! I went back and remedied that. (I did think it was odd that they posted all of those entries at the same time…)

    Glad to have you in two places to read.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      November 23, 2010 10:22 am

      It is a bit slapdash. I just talked to one of the Babble people and they are sorting things out–I had thought the posts would go up serially, not all at once–but whatever….Thank you all for being so attentive. It’s still impossible to find the blog from Babble’s home page, but they are fixing that, I think.

  11. Pinkie Bling permalink
    November 23, 2010 11:57 am

    Yes, please do continue to link from here!

  12. Celeste permalink
    November 24, 2010 11:49 pm

    I’m so happy you found this gig! It seems like a great fit for you, once the site bugs are worked out.

Leave a Reply

