Skip to content

Click

November 23, 2010

Here are posts one, two and three after the introductory entry (which was originally to run as an essay, not an inaugural blog post).

I am clearly being punished by Zeus, because my icebox has suddenly broken. I just paid a fortune to have it fixed last summer, and it is kaput. Two days before Thanksgiving. Consoling-windows friend advises unplugging everything and letting everything rot in a cooler for a while, then plugging it back in. I weep. I was on the brink of purchasing an expensive, organic, farm-raised, homeschooled bird for us to cook together on Thursday. Alas, the cooler is filled with frozen items from Trader Joe’s I smugly carted home just last week, feeling proud of myself and like a proper grown-up.

My younger son is sickly again–cough, fever. The street is closed again–construction, noise, digging. The car is on its last legs. Ah, well. Chin up, could be worse. I think I will clean the house like a maniac instead of wasting energy wallowing–I’ll move my son around with me, set him up in each area of the house with his books and his lukewarm Gatorade, to keep me company.

I have a dreadful headache.

Ever wish you had a husband around so you could yell at somebody?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    November 23, 2010 11:54 am

    “Ever wish you had a husband around so you could yell at somebody?”

    Heh. I do have one, and I did last night, for things that were in no way his fault.

    I did apologize, though.

  2. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    November 23, 2010 12:34 pm

    I yelled at the fridge, which was deeply satisfying.

    Anyone out there a repair-oriented type? Do you have any fridge troubleshooting notions? I yanked it out from the wall and unplugged it.

  3. November 23, 2010 12:35 pm

    Oh, yes. I have a husband, but he’s away a lot. and it is true that it’s nice to have someone to yell at (and I often do yell at him just to make myself feel better), but there is a lot less to yell about when he’s not around. 🙂 So it’s a double-edged sword, I think.

  4. ivfcycler permalink
    November 23, 2010 4:00 pm

    did you try plugging it back in after you unplugged it? for electronic glitches that sometimes resets the system.

  5. ivfcycler permalink
    November 23, 2010 4:02 pm

    (you only need to wait about 10 seconds unplugged)

  6. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    November 23, 2010 4:05 pm

    It was all frosted up inside, so I’m letting it all thaw out. Not very technical sounding. Consoling-windows friend insists this is the way to go. It was rather satisfying to clean it. And to throw away all manner of stupid half-jars of things.

    Cross your fingers.

  7. DeirdreMarie permalink
    November 23, 2010 7:05 pm

    Sounds like the thermostat and/or heater may no longer be working. A temporary fix until Maytag person shows up is to take a blow dryer to the frosted up bits in the freezer. Thawing it out accomplishes the same thing but takes longer.

    Try googling the parts and purchasing yourself. A local Mr Fix it would be far less expensive than hiring Mr Maytag who conveniently has the 300% mark-up parts sitting on his truck.

  8. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    November 23, 2010 7:43 pm

    My god, I fixed it! I mean, it fixed by magic. DeirdreMarie, does that mean it’s not going to STAY fixed? Last time it broke it was the compressor and it cost 700 bucks to replace. (I feel ill even typing that.)

    • DeirdreMarie permalink
      November 24, 2010 9:12 pm

      Not forever but for about 3 days. Rinse and repeat until it is repaired. The good news is that the parts are not that expensive if you purchase them yourself. You could even YouTube the how to fix but unless you feel great about your fix-it skills, the local handy person might have to suffice.

  9. CWF permalink
    November 24, 2010 1:38 am

    No, no, it will now stay fixed forever. I promise.
    And, yelling at husband is never as satisfying as one (without a husband) might imagine.

  10. Celeste permalink
    November 24, 2010 11:52 pm

    Very sorry for things going wrong; it’s as if the appliances and vehicles can smell a few extra dollars coming your way.

Leave a Reply

