Skip to content

Oh dear, less than I wanted to post

December 7, 2010

A link to a Babble post. There are still some glitches being worked out over there–won’t you please let me know (or comment in their comment section) if you can’t find my site, can’t read things, object to certain things, etc? I am working with the editors to try to make it all run smoothly, but I am rather incompetent. Ah, well. Things will settle down soon, I hope. I’m in my house freezing, and have so much to do today that I can’t afford to hide under the covers any more, so must leap into action. How does this happen, I wonder–how does December sneak up on me like this every single year? Tonight we’ll try to get the tree, and this afternoon I’ll go in search of a space heater for the bedroom, so that my younger son and I won’t wake up with icicles hanging from our noses tomorrow morning. Right now my ancient old furnace is bravely soldiering away in the basement, with little or no effect on the frigid air three stories away….

What is everyone doing for Christmas? It will be my first Christmas without my kids. I wish I could spend it across the pond with this fascinating creature, but alas. It will be all right. And I know I can’t go through with the shared holiday thing again, it’s too ghastly and fake, so I bit the bullet and the kids are going to be with their father et al. It would help, though, to have as many different models for Yuletide bliss as possible, so that I can pick my favorite bits from each one, and make a brand new solo Christmas tradition of my own. Suggestions? Food, drink, bizarre local deities and personages always welcome.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    December 7, 2010 3:27 pm

    This isn’t exactly a Christmas suggestion, but one year we held a Festivus party (“Festivus for the rest of us”, first identified nationally on Seinfeld, is traditionally held on December 23rd, and features the Festivus pole, the Airing of Grievances, and wrestling the host/hostess until pinned, as until this occurs the party cannot end.) Personally, I loved the Airing of Grievances, which we turned into a drinking game, as it allowed me to complain about my husband’s Velvet Elvis (Velvis) that he insisted on keeping in the living room. Alas, I aired this grievance six years ago and the Velvis still reigns supreme in our living room…

    Another year (much earlier in time) when it was just me, my mom, and my brother, we eschewed cooking, ordered Chinese, and went to a movie–a very Jewish Christmas. It was fun.

    Yet another year, we volunteered in a soup kitchen on Christmas Day–definitely a forceful reminder of how good I had (and have) it…

    Hope some of these are helpful.

  2. December 7, 2010 8:52 pm

    Now I cannot stop fantasizing about home-alone Christmas days. Here’s my perfect holiday: sleep until 8, go for a run (in my fantasy it never dips below thirty degrees) eat sushi, frozen fried chicken and coconut cake, pat the dogs a lot, read one of those books that compels you to carry it with you while you make tea, walk the dog, etc (maybe a Tana French novel, or a Dennis Lehane), drink a few glasses of mildly expensive red wine, watch four Jane Austen movies in a row. Yoga under the tree. Go to bed. The whole day a gift of peace. And quiet.

  3. Louise permalink
    December 7, 2010 10:12 pm

    Have YOUR Christmas celebration BEFORE the 25. I once had the tree out for the garbagemen on Dec 24. (children left for father’s house early on the 23rd and tree was dry dry dry. PLAN a carefully pampering day for yourself with lovely food, an extra nap and indulgent behaviors (sleep in). OR, go to a friend’s house for one meal with that family. If it fits your spiritual life, go to a church service OR sign up to serve dinner at a homeless shelter. BE SURE to DO THE FULL DO on your choice of Christmas Eve and day!!! Do not let some Roman pick a date based on Druidical lore for you.

  4. December 7, 2010 10:32 pm

    this is a great post. what’s new about that, huh! this will also be my first christmas without my little ones. i feel crushed. i’ll have them back on the 28th. we got a christmas tree this evening, will decorate it after preschool/school tomorrow afternoon. my heart is really really broken. i tend to feel a little depressed any way around the holidays and this year it’s hitting me hard.

    a friend of mine pointed out that i have all next year to look forward to having the children with me for christmas. i felt surprisingly upset by this comment. it almost feels like i’m not supposed to grieve losing this christmas, instead need to stay positive about next year’s. i don’t think so. i want to grieve and be upset and sad about it, then get over it, and then move on to next year’s christmas.

    what do you think i should do!!

    cheers!

  5. December 8, 2010 5:26 am

    Mulled wine Swedish style and Christmassy beers go a long way. Tree, tacky lighting, warmth, Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra crooing in the backgrpund. It’s a Wonderful Life with James Stewart on Christmas Eve!

    Long snowy walks – my Christmas takes place in Northern Sweden so no problem with that particular attribute – preferrably in good company.

    Mass on Christmas Eve with all the traditional carols and hymns.

    Lots of candle light and whatever foods you like.

  6. December 23, 2010 9:40 am

    My first year without my kiddos as well – I dropped them off this morning & get them back Christmas evening. I purposefully postponed ALL Christmas shopping so I’ll be insanely busy today & tomorrow picking stuff up, wrapping, and arguing with myself over whether its selfish to make the really good gifts from me and the really crappy ones from Santa.

    I was talking to a friend about this and he re-framed it in a way I like – I should celebrate the massive, complicated & expensive gift I’ve given myself this year: my independence. Its a nice thought, and one I’ll try to execute. Here’s hoping Christmas Eve doesn’t find me crawling inside a bottle of red and watching Law & Order reruns…

Leave a Reply

