Skip to content

Not in Rome

April 8, 2011

I posted something new at Babble, here.

And here’s a not-terribly-good photo of an elephant by Bernini, right behind the Pantheon, my favorite building (next to St. Mark’s in Venice, I guess) in the whole world. It already seems quite impossible I was ever in Rome, where the sun shone and the sky was blue, since last night’s baseball game was played entirely on tundra, and the parents who didn’t freeze to death ate those who did, and all I can say is thank god that walrus carcass turned up in the seventh inning. It was a little smelly inside, but at least we stayed alive.

When will spring come? I’m sitting wrapped in a blanket, and my toes are cold. I wish I were back in the sunny Mediterranean, eating artichokes, ogling Vespas, and drinking gallons of cheap, delicious red wine with my dashing boyfriend by my side.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Not in Rome Either permalink
    April 8, 2011 11:05 am

    I cannot stop laughing at this post. I am also laughing at the telephone remark in the Babble post. You need to stop taking all these damned vacations and settle into a routine of giving me something to laugh my head off at every day. Please?

  2. April 8, 2011 11:23 am

    The telephone line in the Babble post made me laugh out loud as well!

    And when I think of St Mark’s I think of the floors. I couldn’t get over that the floors were as stunning to look at as anything else in that building.

  3. PinkieBling permalink
    April 8, 2011 12:33 pm

    Baseball on the tundra and the 7th-inning walrus = BRAVA! It’s a terrible shame that we’re *all* not in Rome. I would very much like a vacation, especially since a reliable stretch of real spring weather is nowhere in sight here in Utah. *SIGH*

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      April 9, 2011 5:38 pm

      I actually talked to someone on the phone the other day in Utah who said it was snowing. But listen, forty degree rain is worse than nice fluffy romantic snow on the daffodills. It is sticks and mud season over here.

  4. April 10, 2011 4:55 am

    Ohhhh, Bernini. I had forgotten Just How Much I heart Bernini.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      April 10, 2011 10:07 am

      Me too, me too, me too. This time it was the David that got to me over the more obvious Pluto/Persephone and Apollo/Daphne, both of which I revere. I had never even HEARD of Bernini till I went to school in Rome–it was all Michaelangelo all the time. But Bernini and Caravaggio are my absolute favorites.

  5. Tripta permalink
    April 11, 2011 1:42 am

    and here I am, in India, wondering if the moral police would catch me if I dispense with clothes altogether…
    it’s SO HOT! already!!

  6. April 18, 2011 5:48 am

    Weather in Scotland veering from hailstones to rain to sun, all in the space of about 5 minutes. Send the walrus carcass north please.

    Ali xxxx

Leave a Reply

