Skip to content

Robust and textured, with a burst of cherry and mineral aromas, and a silvery heroin afterglow

May 25, 2011

Ah, yes. Roxicet, the 2011 vintage. Quite lovely. I am sans tonsils and high as a fucking kite.

Thank you all for your kind encouragement. The surgeon pronounced my tonsils among the biggest and most disgusting he had ever seen, so I’m very proud. I’m home now, surrounded by flowers and everything I need, and NO CHILDREN. It’s like Transpotting, but with nicer digs and no pesky kids to keep track (or not) of….

I still have not heard from my editor re the putative divorce column (I owe her an article, so you’d think she’d be eager to contact me…but then again, I owe her an article, so I have not been especially eager to contact HER) but I will let you know what happens as soon as I know. But if you’d like to be even more helpful than you have already been, I had an idea regarding the Babble column. Emma at Belgian Waffle has kindly blogrolled Divorced With Kids, and if anyone else were so inclined, that would boost traffic. And the huge surge in hits I got on one post last month came from Facebook, apparently.

I cannot post a link to DWK, or “like” it, even, for obvious reasons. (Plans are in the works to set up an Irretrievably Broken Facebook identity and then we will all be friends, I hope. But I’ve got to tie off and shoot up again right now, so it might be a while.) In the meantime? You have the power to make Babble pay for my tonsillectomy. It does not matter which DWK post you link to–every hit anywhere on the blog counts. But if it goes even mildly viral (think roseola, not smallpox) I might even have enough left over for rehab. Which I’m thinking I probably ought to budget for. Wheee!

And now I’m off to write a short little poem I’m thinking of calling “Howl”. Then I’ll record “Exile on Main Street.” MAN, this shit is GREAT! What in the fuck was my problem, worrying about the tonsillectomy? I’d have had a tonsillectomy every WEEK if I’d known this was in the works. (And you guys were all so coy, with your talk of “milkshakes” and “popsicles”. Popsicles my ass. Why didn’t anyone tell me?)

So: DWK, link to it, put it on Facebook, like it, and together we’ll stick it to the Man. Can you help? I won’t be able to see who obliges (I’m locked out of most of the analytics at Babble) so shoot me an email or leave a comment so I can properly appreciate you. And thank you, thank you again.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 6:48 pm

    Ahh the joy of opiates! But beware the glueing up of the insides.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      May 25, 2011 7:57 pm

      Yes, I have a brand new box of what we around here (because we are so intellectual and all) call “Doo-Doo Tea”. I figure I’ll brew a nice cup tomorrow night….

  2. May 25, 2011 7:03 pm

    Ah, you are making me miss my post-delivery percocet stash which is sadly long gone. Almost made the complications after my son’s birth worth it. Almost.

    Hope your recovery is speedy and continues to be pain free.

    It probably won’t do you a lick of good, but I linked to DWK on my blog which boasts the tiniest readership ever. I’d read your stuff anywhere. If someday I am half the writer you are I’d be a happy camper.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      May 25, 2011 7:58 pm

      That is a perfectly lovely thing to say, and I appreciate it. And I am very happy to be part of your readership, too.

  3. May 26, 2011 11:33 am

    Right you be! I will linkify.
    Glad to hear you are so well. Keep shooting.

  4. rebekah permalink
    May 26, 2011 12:47 pm

    Glad it went well, hope the euphoria can last without causing any rebound drawbacks! I most likely am going to have to have my thyroid removed, I found out this morning, and maybe I will ask for the same??? Happy healing!!

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      May 26, 2011 5:37 pm

      Oh, thyroid surgery is much worse than what I just had, you’re very brave! They’ll give you whatever you want for pain, I’m sure. Of course, pain meds are much more fun when you’re not actually IN PAIN, but just having the pain lift off (which is always what it feels like when the medicine hits, to me) is a type of euphoria all its own…

  5. PinkieBling permalink
    May 26, 2011 6:47 pm

    I’ve pimped you on Facebook. 🙂 I’ll do so on Twitter, as well – my five’s of followers will make a huge difference, I’m sure!

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      May 26, 2011 10:18 pm

      Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  6. May 27, 2011 12:36 pm

    I will facebook, tweet and linkify. You linking to me has not only lifted my traffic – but my spirits as well! You writing continues to inspire and amaze and I will spread the word as such.

Leave a Reply

