Skip to content

Not dead

June 17, 2011

Though rather ashamed and astonished that I have the get-up-and-go of a slug, or a sloth, or a slothful slug.  I have done absolutely nothing, and somehow school has ended.  A heat wave came and went.  Relatives, too, came and went and are coming back again tomorrow.  The house does not look or smell its best.  For that matter, neither do I.

Emma asked me to list ten things I love, and even though Eating, Drinking, Sleeping, Brushing My Teeth and Talking are fashionably minimalist après-tonsillectomy pleasures and would get me halfway through the requirement, I will try to come up with more compelling examples for my next post.  Meanwhile, there’s this:  The ENT doctor, at my three-week post operative visit, recoiled visibly from my chart, then, after recognizing me, mimed the epic struggle he’d had with my formerly abscessed right tonsil.  I had to beg him to stop before he put a foot on my chest and commenced fake-pulling.

There will be more–I won’t say tomorrow, because that will doom me for sure–the minute I can gather my addled thoughts, organize them into a tidy narrative, and manage to stay awake long enough to write.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 9:31 pm

    Ooh, I’m looking forward to your list of 10 things. (I’m guessing it doesn’t include freshly sharpened plane blades like mine would.)

  2. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    June 18, 2011 10:11 am

    I’ll tag you when I get mine up, as “freshly sharpened plane blades” is too good to miss…

  3. June 18, 2011 12:57 pm

    I feel your pain. I didn’t have my tonsils out (mine came out when I was 4 years old in a package deal with my sister) but I am suffering from a painful bout of rotator cuff tendonitis. I must confess I am extremely angry at my body and it seeming inablity to bounce back like it did when I was younger. I wish you well and look forward to when we both feel normal again.

  4. IsabelleAnne permalink
    June 18, 2011 1:44 pm

    So happy you are not dead!! I eagerly await your next installment because you write so beautifully & because it will mean you are still not dead ( & perhaps even feeling a lot better!),

Leave a Reply

