Skip to content

Oh, dear…

January 7, 2012

I hope my mom is bringing her fair share. What if we run out?

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    January 7, 2012 7:01 pm

    Will you have room for clothes as well?

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      January 7, 2012 8:48 pm

      Nope. Just DEET. It’ll all work out in the end.

  2. PinkieBling permalink
    January 7, 2012 8:19 pm

    I love you, but seriously: KINDLE KINDLE KINDLE. My neck and back just spasmed at the thought of lugging all that weight around.

    I hope you have a wonderful trip, though!

  3. January 7, 2012 8:25 pm

    Do you have room for a small paperback that will only take a couple of hours to read? Going Solo, an autobiography by Roald Dahl. Tales of flying with the RAF in Africa during WWII. If you are a fan of his it’s completely delightful. Heck, take Boy as well. It’s about his boarding school childhood. Not quite as romantic as Hogwarts….

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      January 7, 2012 8:47 pm

      I love both those Dahl books, as does my older son. But we’ve read, and reread them…

      Problem with Kindle–difficulty recharging in the bush. But I do have a kindle with some downloads, just in case.

      I wish I hadn’t read Brazzaville Beach, or White Man’s Grave, or Mating, or Rules of the Wild, or West With the Night, or I Dreamed of Africa, or Whites, or Dark Star Safari, or any of Somerset Maugham, or A Primate’s Memoir, or any of the Jane Goodall books, so that I could take them. Problem is, one never knows a book is wonderful until it’s read…

      • January 7, 2012 9:08 pm

        Should have known you’d read them. You are infinitely better read than I am, one of the many things I admire about you. Safe travels!

  4. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    January 7, 2012 9:22 pm

    I’m an infinite slacker who lies around all day reading instead of accomplishing anything…I read fast, too. Which is a blessing and a curse. I sometimes fantasize about all the things I’d get done if I didn’t spend hours reading every day, but I don’t seem to be able to stop. I read the phone book happily if there’s nothing else around, and I get a weird jonesing-for-a-cigarette feeling if I don’t have a book going. It’s not really admirable. I read a lot of junk and I neglect a lot of classics…and I reread things constantly, which many consider a waste of time….

  5. Libby permalink
    January 10, 2012 7:43 pm

    Oh goodie, you brought Peter Matthiessen. I love him. Have a wonderful trip!

  6. Sarah permalink
    March 15, 2013 2:06 pm

    All this discussions about which books to take and the mega stack is very Simone De Beauvoire. Thought it was just me. Love it!

Leave a Reply

