Skip to content

Swinophilia

October 11, 2012

The first place consoling-windows friend and I looked at turns out to be the place I think I am going to rent (I want it, but am terrified I’m jinxing things somehow–though I have been assured by the landlady that it is mine, I have yet to sign the lease, and thus I fret). It’s a house. A tiny little house that looks like a kid’s drawing of a house, with a wee front porch and a door and one window on the first floor, two windows on the second floor, and a steep little triangle of a roof. I will reveal more once I have a signed lease in hand, once I’ve handed over my deposit check, but one detail begs to be announced: THE PEOPLE ACROSS THE STREET HAVE A PET PIG.

“A potbellied one? A miniature one?” I gasped, when my lovely French professor friend (who lives in the neighborhood, steps away) told me about it.

“Maybe it was SUPPOSED to be a miniature one, originally,” she said.

“Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god,” I said. A pig! This was better than chickens. “Maybe they have chickens, too!”

“They may, in fact, have chickens,” she said. “They have a dog. They take the pig and the dog for walks together.”

Words, for once, completely fail me.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2012 12:22 pm

    In high school my best friend’s family also had a pot-bellied pig that was “supposed” to be miniature. His name was Guido.

    Good lord. He used to root around and knock over all the kitchen chairs. Also, he was a pig, and hairy, and disgusting. Eventually he went to go live on a farm. He really did! And that is what I choose to believe!

  2. October 11, 2012 2:22 pm

    !!!!!!!!!

  3. October 11, 2012 4:33 pm

    A belated congrats on renting your behemoth and good luck on securing a spot in Pig’s neighborhood. That sounds delightful, although I would back away from any requests to look after the farm while they’re away.

  4. tree town gal permalink
    October 11, 2012 8:11 pm

    Congrats on the house rental (seems like a fantastic compromise and the story about your dad made me swoon). And the new neighborhood Pig has great potential for stories. Can’t wait for your to move to your new cozy abode. Well done on being open-minded enough to make this move.

  5. October 11, 2012 9:50 pm

    Good luck with the new house!! And looking fwd to hearing stories about the pig!!

  6. October 12, 2012 8:44 am

    Maybe it’s George Clooney! He has a Vietnamese pot bellied pig. Although unlikely…wrong country…. Good luck with procuring it – the house that is, not the pig. I’m British – your last post made me hoot with laughter. Tally ho!

  7. October 12, 2012 11:07 am

    A pet pig can be a better-behaved house pet than your average dog, no lie! But they do need plenty of attention to avoid destructiveness…
    (Remind me to tell you about one of the most horrendous pet-custody battles I’ve been in the middle of – over a PBP named “Hamlet”! He is now 11, residing in the lap of luxury w/”Daddy”…)

  8. Was living down under permalink
    October 12, 2012 8:41 pm

    Brilliant – on all accounts – the Brits, the pig and the possibility (only coz I don’t want to jinx it either) of the quaint little house. Yay!

Leave a Reply

