Skip to content

Weather

October 28, 2012

Well, Tuesday was supposed to be moving day. Instead there’s this hurricane thing headed directly for my front door.

I’m weary of the hype, of the constant freaking out about hurricane this and tropical storm that. I’m all in favor of preparedness, but have we really become so overwrought that we can’t handle a storm? Even a bad one? Even when I lived on a barrier island off the coast of South Carolina, where hurricanes, when they come, wallop you handily, I don’t remember this level of panic. I hate to sound like a curmudgeon–“in my day, Category Three was a papercut” and so forth–but really. Some wind, some rain. Possibly the power will go out. This happens when the weather is bad. We’ll be okay. There will be water in the basement, and I suppose a tree might fall on the house, but the house is nearly a hundred years old, and no tree has fallen on it yet.

So the movers will come on Tuesday, or they won’t. The hurricane will wash me and everyone else out to sea, or blow us to kingdom come, or it won’t. The new house will still be standing when I trudge up the walkway a million times laden with boxes, or it won’t. The new tenants will move in after I’ve managed to get everything out and have the place scrubbed from top to bottom, or they won’t. It’s funny to have a bulletproof excuse for slacking a bit. I can’t really do much more–I’ve still got to live here, after all, and I need a few things. The coffee maker, a plate or two, a mug. It’s strange how much you actually can’t pack, even when you are struggling to pack everything you own, till the very last minute.

I’ve got food in the icebox, the Patrick Melrose novels (which are making me seriously question my decision to rent to English people), bottles of seltzer, and a warm bed, to which I shall presently repair. Consoling-windows friend, whose house I will only be able to gaze at affectionately for a few more days, is as blasé as I am. We’ll all be okay. The kids, who are with their father, want me to sleep downstairs to avoid being crushed by our enormous copper beech tree, should it fall on the house, and I’ve lied and promised I would. It’s strange, being alone in an all-but-emptied, boxed up house while every internet channel and the TV and the radio all scream DOOM! DOOM! The cat is clingy, and worried. But I’m not.

Stay tuned.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2012 10:45 pm

    We’re enjoying the hurricane’s silver lining, in that my brother and niece who are visiting can’t fly home tomorrow as planned. Extra day of fun for us, but sorry for the uncertainty of it for you.

  2. October 28, 2012 10:49 pm

    The sky is falling! The sky is falling! Run for your lives! It’s the end of the world! …or not. Okay, so some mobile homes are going to get washed away, and some ugly Hamptons palaces are going to be damaged. Maybe some pretty Cape May victorians are going to get smashed, too (which is too bad unlike the previous two). And some of us might even find ourselves without power for up to a week or more…or not. At least its not one hundred degrees outside, or minus twenty. For all the chatter and shrieking that’s going on, one would think this is the Apocolypse. My advice for those out there having a fit? Get a pail, fill it with potable water, wash down a couple of Xanax with a stiff drink (or two), and go to bed. Life goes on. Usually. Reggie

  3. Was living down under permalink
    October 28, 2012 11:02 pm

    Glad you’re not letting the situation stress you out. It’ll all happen when it’s meant to I guess. We’re getting rain and lots of it where I am (central Ontario) as a result of this hurricane. Makes me wish I had a fireplace and no work so I could curl up and read and not have to go outside. Dunno what I’d do with the little children though…not sure I’d wish them gone…though maybe for just a few hours…

    Looking forward to your next update. Seems I don’t have much better to do than to read about someone else’s adventures in moving house.

  4. Brenna permalink
    October 29, 2012 4:31 am

    I think I’d pay more attention to the cat than I would the weathermen.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      October 29, 2012 10:22 am

      I think the boxes are wigging her out more than anything. She has brought me some extra mice to compensate.

  5. October 29, 2012 5:59 am

    I couldn’t agree more. Hurricane Schmuricane. We were in FL for Hurricane – sorry, “hurricane” – Isaac, and it was (forgive the pun) a complete storm in a teapot. We went to the beach – which was completely empty – on the day, and watched the waves and the clouds. Was my absolute favourite summer experience. I couldn’t believe how much media coverage it got, whipping everyone into a complete frenzy. Our neighbours couldn’t believe we hadn’t stocked up on water and candles and tinned food. It was wind and rain for goodness sakes. Mind you, I wouldn’t particularly want to be right in its path, and all v easy for me to be sneery all the way from London Town. However, in sympathy for you all*, I have nailed down the windows** and taken to my bed for the day.
    (* I have also got the beginnings of a head cold so have to keep contact with the baby to an absolute minimum. So when I got ordered to bed, what could I do but acquiesce??)
    (**Not really. But I am thinking of you, and hope your move goes ahead as planned tmrw x)

  6. October 29, 2012 6:46 am

    Here in our city, 100 miles south of Washington DC, they have closed schools for the day. Why? Not that I’m not grateful for a break from getting everybody up and ready, but it seems like overkill. Where I’m originally from, 50mph winds are just a part of a normal day.

  7. SarahB permalink
    October 29, 2012 9:13 am

    We’re hanging tight here. A day to read in bed sounds lovely, really. We’re doing that during the toddler’s naps. 🙂

  8. Twangy permalink
    October 30, 2012 12:30 pm

    Wave when you can, won’t you? Can’t help being a bit concerned.

Leave a Reply

