Skip to content

The feeling returns whenever we close our eyes

January 26, 2012

I’m back, a bit dazed. Lovely to see the children, of course, though the nine year old did not, apparently, bathe once the entire time I was gone. And the 15 year old outgrew his cleats and his shoes, and is limping around complaining that he has gout.  It’s cold here, and the dearth of servants and baby animals is going to take some getting used to. I wake too early and fall asleep at odd times and I’m hungry in the middle of the night, and the car won’t start and the computer battery is dead and I still can’t face my voicemail, but the trip exceeded all expectations, and you’ll soon hear about it, I promise.

I’m gathering my wits, but in the meantime, go read this and here’s something to tide you over.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 8:09 am

    (quick annoying aside: I think the link is missing a “:”. or else my computer is being pissy.)

    Here’s something else worth reading: http://www.finslippy.com/blog/on-being-an-object-and-then-not-being-an-object.html

    The problem with trips like the one you just had is that it elevates ones expectations of how life should be – servants and baby animals is the very LEAST of what we are entitled to… (that’s why I go on holidays with toddlers – I come home and sigh with happiness just to have survived it…)

    V glad you’re back, and looking fwd to reading all about the trip. Love the stripey pony too.

  2. January 26, 2012 8:27 am

    Welcome home!

  3. mizasiwa permalink
    January 26, 2012 8:30 am

    the link as above says – doesnt seem to work – i dont know how i missed your last few posts – your ususally in my rss feeder but i saw you pop onto FB with Polly and followed that link here … anyway I hope you enjoyed Tanzania – I hear its beautiful!! (i live on the same continent and have never gone over our borders so will enjoy your safari stories 😉

  4. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    January 26, 2012 8:46 am

    I think it’s fixed now–a delicious rant by the most saturnine foodblogger on the planet, who happens to be an old high school chum, if “chum” means “someone I ignored, unjustly, because he was younger than I and a deadhead and a day student.” Peter, you were a day student, weren’t you?

  5. January 26, 2012 8:51 am

    Yes. You might want to have the link be to the actual post, rather than the homepage, in case I get a wild hair and write something else someday.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      January 26, 2012 8:54 am

      I tried that, you ungrateful fuck, and couldn’t get it to work. Consider yourself lucky for any attention at all.

  6. January 26, 2012 9:00 am

    Also, in my defense, I don’t actually suffer from lead poisoning. I’m just obnoxious.

    Man, do you suck at blogging. You copy the url and then you paste it into the little dialog box when WP asks you for the link. No wonder you were intimidated by me in high school.

  7. irretrievablybroken permalink*
    January 26, 2012 9:04 am

    Jesus fucking christ. I’ll try again, and if it doesn’t work I’ll paste the Pioneer Woman’s site in there instead. No one ELSE I’ve ever linked to has been this annoying.

  8. January 26, 2012 9:10 am

    I didn’t realize when I wrote the post that there’s a huge and thriving ecosystem of PW haters out on the Internets. I’ve been getting lots of love from them, and they seem particularly elated that I am a dude. Evidently their community is 99.9% female or something.

    http://thepioneerwomansux.com/
    http://themarlborowoman.com/

  9. January 26, 2012 10:00 am

    Oh please no… Nothing makes me feel less accomplished. Speaking of which, I was sent a link today to an article by a woman with nine – NINE!!! – children. And she hasn’t killed herself (yet). CAN YOU IMAGINE.

    • irretrievablybroken permalink*
      January 26, 2012 10:04 am

      Go read Peter’s rant. You’ll never be cowed (ho ho) by what’s-her-Pioneer-face again. IT’S ALL SMOKE AND MIRRORS.

      • January 26, 2012 10:11 am

        Or smoke and booze, which is what I’d turn to pretty much constantly if I was living on a farm and home-educating my children

  10. PinkieBling permalink
    January 26, 2012 11:05 am

    You and Peter are cracking me UP. 🙂 Welcome back, can’t wait to hear about the trip!

  11. Libby permalink
    January 26, 2012 5:25 pm

    Ooh – Peter is delightful. Thanks for the link, which is working fine now. 🙂

Leave a comment